Nomenclatural types of the Linnaean names in Zygophyllum (Zygophyllaceae)

September 13, 2018

by Pablo Ferrer Gallego


The nomenclatural types of the Linnaean names in the genus Zygophyllum (Zygophyllaceae) are discussed and revised. Lectotypes of Z. fulvum (≡ Roepera fulva), Z. morgsana (≡ R. morgsana), Z. sessilifolium (≡ R. sessilifolia) and Z. spinosum (≡ R. spinosa) are designated, and Z. simplex (≡ Tetraena simplex) is neotypified. Epitypes are designated for Z. coccineum and Z. spinosum due to ambiguity in the interpretation of their types. Linnaeus's original material of Z. aestuans and Z. nitraria could not be found, the application of the names appears uncertain, therefore they are treated as nomen ambiguum. In addition, the typification of Decaisne's name Z. propinquum (≡ T. propinqua) is discussed, and a lectotype is designated.

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Recent Posts

November 11, 2019

October 24, 2019

September 24, 2019

August 11, 2019

Please reload

Please reload

Search By Tags
Please reload

Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square