IAPT Awards

The IAPT awards four medals, to individuals who have made outstanding contributions to taxonomy and systematics.


The Engler Medal in gold is awarded every six years, while the silver medals are awarded every year.

Engler Medal in Gold

For outstanding lifetime contributions to taxonomy and systematics

Engler Medal in Silver

For outstanding monographic or systematic works

Stafleu Medal

For an outstanding publication on historical, bibliographic, and/or nomenclatural aspects of systematics and taxonomy

Stebbins Medal

For an outstanding publication in phylogenetic systematics and evolution

Donate to IAPT when you shop on Amazon

Unless otherwise specified, content on this website is licensed under Creative Commons CC-BY. Please see our Terms of Use for more information.