The Engler Medal in Gold

The Engler Gold Medal is awarded every six years for outstanding lifetime contributions to taxonomy and systematics of plants, algae or fungi, and is presented at each International Botanical Congress (IBC).


This Engler Gold Medal has been awarded to the following recipients:


Frans A. Stafleu (Utrecht)

IBC-XIV, Berlin, Aug. 1987


William T. Stearn (London)

IBC-XV, Tokyo, Sep. 1993


Peter H. Raven (St. Louis)

IBC-XVI, St. Louis, Aug. 1999


Friedrich Ehrendorfer (Vienna)

IBC-XVII, Vienna, July 2005


Tod F. Stuessy (Vienna)

IBC-XVIII, Melbourne, July 2011


De-Yuan Hong (Beijing)

IBC-XIX, Shenzhen, July 2017

Donate to IAPT when you shop on Amazon

Unless otherwise specified, content on this website is licensed under Creative Commons CC-BY. Please see our Terms of Use for more information.